Alicia's Food For Thought


Feels like a Dream

Hi readers,

It has been a week since I’ve returned to the United States and it has been nice to do veg out and do nothing. Thailand and China already feels like a dream and like I never really was there. I still can’t believe I was out of the United States for 11 weeks and that I’ll be going back to NYU for my senior year in two.

Here are some my favorite food in Thailand. Keep in mind I was a Pescatarian while I was there so no pork, beef, or chicken dishes here although I am sure they were equally as delicious.

Som Tam (Papaya Salad)- I ate this at least once a week and asked for extra chilis and no shrimp :).

making papaya salad som tam

papaya salad som tam thailand

Nam Prik Num– Northern Thai Green Chili Paste with steamed vegetables

Nam Prik Ka Pi– Thai Chili Paste with fried vegetables

Fcuk Meaw (No that isn’t a typo.)

fcuk meaw

Kao Soy– Northern Thai Soup made with coconut milk aka very fattening.

northern thailand kao soy

northern thailand kao soy toppings

Thai Vegetable Spring Rolls (Yes, you can get this in the US….)

thai spring roll

The internship at the Mae Fah Luang Foundation was an amazing learning experience. I didn’t learn much about marketing or branding but the cultural experience was invaluable. I think this was a summer of a lot of self reflection and I hope I do lose my sense of self-awareness when I go back to school. When you are really put outside of your comfort zone, you get the chance to step outside of your culture and try to get of a sense of what makes you you. I’ve been fortunate enough to have traveled all over the world, but I’ve never been to an Eastern country for long period of time before. I thought being in Thailand was going to be similar to my experience in Nicaragua as an Amigos de las Americas Volunteer, but really the two experiences can not be compared. I think I was still very young as a person when I went to Nicaragua and Thailand felt like I was reaching a pivotal point of “growing up”.

bangkok thailand skyline

I want to allot enough time to continue self-reflection at school and I think my decision to cut things out of my life and to work less hours will allow me to do so. I want to continue Yoga when I go back to New York and I think it will remind me patience and to be gentle with myself and my body.

new york city

I still can’t really put into words what happened in Thailand and maybe I am not that different because of it- but I feel older (and maybe a little bit wiser) and I know I’ve made some great friends while I was there and I can’t wait to see them again in the future. (You all better visit me in NYC!)

time flies

Now that the summer is coming to a close, my posts will return to going back to food and food issues. I feel a little out of the loop in the food world and I am going to spend some time now to catch up on reading. Thanks for reading about my Asian Adventures and coming along for the ride. Who knows, maybe I’ll go back to Asia next summer (Bali?).

Chow,

Alicia Kim

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

great post!

Comment by misconceptionoftheoyster




Leave a Reply

