Alicia's Food For Thought


Meatpacking Local Photoshoot
September 4, 2009, 12:01 AM
Filed under: Real Eats

Hello readers!

Sorry I haven’t written in while, things have been pretty hectic with RA training. Move-In Day and whatnot. But fear not! I’m back and I shouldn’t be leaving anytime soon.

So this past summer I interned with Bridget Williams, a Graphic Designer based in New York City, and she invited me to come to a photoshoot with her yesterday at Milk Studios. The photoshoot was for Meatpacking Local, a magazine given out at the Wine & Food Festival. A bunch of portraits were done of the contributors (Farmers, distributors, chefs, etc.). We also took pictures or produce, oysters, honey, and mushrooms! Hans, the guy who brought the mushrooms, was the cutest man ever! He even brought in “forest debris” to photograph. I never been to a professional photoshoot so it was an overall exciting day with BDUB.

Here are some pictures that I took:

Buying oysters!

Buying oysters!

Wandering Chelsea Market for props.

Wandering Chelsea Market for props.

Himalayan Salt for the Oysters.

Himalayan Salt for the Oysters.

Honey from the rooftops.

Honey from the rooftops.

Delicious honey straight from the comb.

Delicious honey straight from the comb.

Photoshoot inside Milk Studios.

Photoshoot inside Milk Studios.

Meet and Greet our subjects.
Mushrooms ready for their closeup.

Mushrooms ready for their closeup.

Don't eat the subjects!

Don't eat the subjects!

I got paid in mushrooms.

I got paid in mushrooms.

 Overall it was a great day! It was super long (I was there from 10AM-8PM). We ate a lot, sat around a lot, took a lot of pictures, met a lot of people, and wandered a lot but it was really interesting seeing how food gets styled. I can’t wait to go to the festival to see the magazine after it is all printed!

Anyways, once again, I have failed to provide you all with a recipe post, but I promise the next one will be a recipe! Wasn’t this interesting to see the process on how a professional shoots gets done? A lot of work gets put in to making an annual magazine.

First post since residents have moved in! I hope you all have enoyed and talked to you all soon! :)

Alicia Kim
Food For Thought Resident
alicia.foodforthought@gmail.com

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good article, great looking blog, added it to my favorites.

Comment by BreampBek




Leave a Reply

