Alicia's Food For Thought


Julie & Julia Film Review
August 15, 2009, 1:44 AM
Filed under: Media Bites

Paul Child: What is it your really like to do?
Julia Child: EAT!

Hi everyone,

Last week I saw the film, Julie & Julia with Jamie and her family. I’ve been waiting for this film to come out since May so I was super excited to finally and go see it. The theater was filled with older couples so I’m guessing they probably grew up watching Julia Child when she starred in The French Chef. If you haven’t read the book Julie and Julia, I highly recommend reading it before watching the film (although the film does an excellent interpretation).

The film is really sweet and of course I would love it. It’s about a girl blogging about food! Hum… I can definitely relate. I feel like I’m channeling Julie Powell right now and I, too, wonder if anyone reads my blog.

But enough about me, I think there is definitely something very powerful about food. Being able to eat good tasting and satisfying food is a basic human right ever since we ditched that whole hunter/gatherer nomad scene. You don’t need to eat luxurious food in order to be considered a “foodie” and both Julie & Julia make that point very clear.

Julia Child is such an amazing role model. She was at a towering height of 6’2″ and did things that fit her instead of changing herself to fit in. She married the love of her life and was able to ease the American cooks into the wonderful world of French Cuisine. She never let herself become satisfied with doing what everyone else was doing and she was fearless! Truly pioneered the way to TV cooking.

My favorite character of the film, other than Julie & Julia of course, was Eric Powell (played by Chris Messina), Julie’s husband. He was very supportive of Julie’s project and even though it was a crazy idea to cook all 524 recipes in 365 days, he wanted to allow his wife to do something for herself. Plus, he got to eat some pretty amazing (and some not so amazing) meals along the way. I definitely need to find someone like Eric for myself. He wasn’t afraid to fight with her when she was acting like a narcissistic freak, but he also listened when she cried about how impossible her project seemed to be.

Anyways, I’m not going to spoil too much of the film because I think you all should go out and see it. The film was very inspirational and the book is even better!

Here are some of my favorite scenes from Julie & Julia:

Julia beating the Boys.

Julia (Meryl Streep) beating the Boys.

Julie and Eric Powell

Julie (Amy Adams) and Eric (Chris Messina) Powell

"You are the bread to my butter."

"You are the bread to my butter and the breath to my life."

Julie

I would love to cook for my friends with the NYC skyline as my backdrop. Even though I usually never celebrate Halloween, I might be Julia Child this year. Just for kicks. :) Her style is very country chic. BTW, I’m finally will be moving into my RA room next week! I’m stoked to decorate my room and to set up my kitchen with odds and ends.

Well readers, this is all I have for you at this time. I promise I will do a recipe for sure as my next post. For now I bid you good eats!

Julia

Or as Julia Child would say, “Bon apetit!”

Alicia Kim
Food For Thought Resident Assistant
alicia.foodforthought@gmail.com

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well you did cook for the NIC on my terrace overlooking the Brooklyn Bridge! So you can check that one off your list.

Comment by Tony

Alicia, I had no idea that you had a blog, but I am so glad that you do! I will for sure become one of your loyal readers! I saw Julie & Julia last week, and I loved it! It made me want to write a blog!

Comment by Patrick

;)

Comment by Mi Rae

tee hee hee ;) <3

Comment by Winnie

Great movie if you want a light evening. Not as much about Julia as about Julie. Meryl Streep was wonderful as Julia and reinfects everyone with their love of Julia Child, who was and always will be an original.

great movie to see – and dig out Big Night also a great food movie and there are lots.

enjoy

Comment by Fred Mayo




Leave a Reply

