Alicia's Food For Thought


Garlic Festival in Gilroy, CA
August 7, 2009, 3:14 AM
Filed under: Real Eats

Hi readers! :)

I’ve been spending the summer in NYC for the first time this year but from July 21st until the 28th I went home to California for my mom’s 50th birthday.

While I was home I was able to attend the Garlic Festival in Gilroy, CA with a couple of my friends. If you never heard about the Garlic Festival. No worries, I didn’t either until I watched a program on the Food Network and I’m even from the area. Basically it is festival celebrating garlic since Gilroy, CA is considered the “Garlic Capital of the world” (You can smell garlic during the summer time in my backyard even though I live 20-30 minutes away).

This year was the Garlic Festival’s 31st anniversary for July 24th-26th. You can everything with garlic such as garlic bread, garlic fries, garlic sausage, garlic shrimp… the list goes on and on. But one thing you probably will never find anywhere else is garlic ice cream! No, I didn’t try any… sorry guys, I’m not that adventurous. I think think creamy ice cream should be something eaten after you eat a garlic-y meal and not at the same time. There are also street vendors that sell artisan crafts which we enjoyed looking at. Rosa and I purchased ear clips (everyone keeps asking me if I is a new piercing but no, but I wish it was!). This year they even had Fabio from Bravo’s Top Chef come as a special guest.

The traffic to the Garlic Festival was kind of ridiculous- usually a ride that takes about 30 minutes maximum from my house took over an hour. I didn’t know that the Garlic Festival was so popular! Mara drove and Rosa rode shotgun (They’re my friends from doing Cross Country during my high school years)  and I enjoyed the view. I’ve really missed the California landscape since coming to the East Coast.

Here are some pictures I took during the Garlic Festival:

On the road to the Garlic Festival (too much traffic)

On the road to the Garlic Festival (too much traffic)

Garlic Festival Tickets ($12/person)

Garlic Festival Tickets ($12/person)

My yummy (but expensive) garlic fries.

My yummy (but expensive) garlic fries.

Garli Festival 2009

Garli Festival 2009

Cooking with garlic!

Cooking with garlic!

Rosa and Mara sharing Garlic Bread

Rosa and Mara sharing Garlic Bread

Overall, I enjoyed the Garlic Festival even though it was overpriced for what you get (You still need to purchase all the food you want to eat). I don’t think I would go again because I don’t think it changes from year to year. I would suggest you check out the Garlic Festival website and learn about who is going to be there if you’re going to sit in traffic and pay the ticket price.

5 Fun/Health Facts about Garlic:

  1. Garlic is closely related to onions, leeks, and shallots.
  2. Garlic is a good source of vitamin C.
  3. Garlic is also referred to as the stinking rose.
  4. Apparently rubbing your hands on a stainless steel bowl is thought to quash garlic odor?
  5. Garlic prevents heart disease, inflammation, high blood pressure, cancer, and Type II diabetes complications.
    *Facts taken from this article.

Also, another fun note is that there is a fruit called Mangosteen that looks just like a garlic when you open it. Mangosteens are my favorite fruit to eat when I visit my dad in Cambodia (don’t worry, they taste nothing like garlic).

Mangosteen aka Garlic Fruit

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more Good Eats adventures! :) I think for the next entry I’m going to be making a recipe and posting pictures on how to make a healthy meal in a student’s kitchen as well as on a student’s budget.

Later days, guys!

Alicia Kim
Food For Thought Resident Assistant
alicia.foodforthought@gmail.com

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

THEY HAVE MANGOSTEEN IN CALIFORNIA?!?!?!??!!

Comment by youngandfoolish

[…] (reasons that will be explained in a different post), I do enjoy my Orange Mango with Mangosteen (MANGOSTEEN!) Honest Ade with my lunch every once in a while. So today in my Social Entrepreneurship class I […]

Pingback by Honest Tea « Alicia's Food For Thought

[…] (reasons that will be explained in a different post), I do enjoy my Orange Mango with Mangosteen (MANGOSTEEN!) Honest Ade with my lunch every once in a while. So today in my Social Entrepreneurship class I […]

Pingback by Honest Tea | Alicia likes Food




Leave a Reply

