Alicia's Food For Thought


Alyssa’s 20th Birthday
July 20, 2009, 5:23 PM
Filed under: Real Eats | Tags: , , ,

Hi everyone!

Thanks for reading my blog! Here you can find posts, pictures, vlogs, recipes, a calendar of events, and links related to the Food for Thought Explorations Floor.

For my first blog post I’ve decided to write about Alyssa’s 20th Birthday celebration! :D

Since both Mi Rae and I were going to be outside of NYC for Alyssa’s actual birthday (7/24), we celebrated a week early with dinner and dessert (and presents of course!).

Mi Rae and I decided to go to Sushi Samba (the one on Park Avenue). We didn’t realize it was Restaurant Week and that Sushi Samba was participating until the waiter gave us the special menu. Of course we decided to take advantage of this opportunity. I thought it was a great deal considering you get your pick of appetizer, entree, and dessert for $35. (Lunch is usually $24-25 during Restaurant Week).

Mi Rae and I picked the same combination and it was DELICIOUS from beginning to end. I don’t think Alyssa enjoyed her combination as much which is ironic because we were taking her out for her birthday. lol.

Sushi Samba Appetizer: Soft Shell Crab Salad

Sushi Samba Appetizer: Soft Shell Crab Salad

Sushi Samba Entree: Sushi Platter

Sushi Samba Entree: Sushi Platter

Sushi Samba Dessert: Banana Sorbet with Chocolate

Sushi Samba Dessert: Banana Sorbet with Chocolate

I think all three of us liked the Soft Shell Crab Salad the best. I liked all the different types of tomatoes that they put in it (I used to hate eating tomatoes but now I can eat them pretty regularly but I don’t think I can pop them in my mouth like candy yet…)

We actually had TWO desserts for Alyssa. We also had a cake waiting for her in Gramercy Green. I’m a firm believer that you should splurge both your wallet and stomach for your friends’ birthdays. The cake was from a Korean Bakery in K-Town. I tend to like Asian cakes better than American because it is lighter on the stomach. YUM!

Alyssa's 20th Birthday Cake

Alyssa's 20th Birthday Cake

Overall, it was a great day of eating and laughs.

Hope you enjoyed your birthday celebration Alyssa!

Later days everyone and stay tuned for more food adventures!

Alicia Kim
Food For Thought Resident Assistant
alicia.foodforthought@gmail.com

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Alicia,
I am liking your new blog and I am very excited to read it throughout the year!

Comment by Sam

sooo cute!!
<3

Mi Rae

Comment by Mi Rae

Hi Alicia,
Your brother told me about your blog and I have enjoyed reading them. keep up to good blog. Love you.

Comment by nina




Leave a Reply

